Music From “Likely Stories”

Release Date 27 May. 2016
In stock
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
Music From "Likely Stories" - 7"
Rough Trade records are very pleased to announce the release of a 7” EP of music written by Jarvis Cocker for the TV series “ Likely Stories”. The 7” is available now and the digital EP will be available from the 27th May. Jarvis worked on the score for the series with musicians Alasdair Malloy (percussionist to Scott Walker), Serafina Steer, Sarah Anderson, Jenny Moore (collectively known as Bas Jan), Martin Slattery (The Hours, Black Grape) & drummer Tom Skinner (Melt Yourself Down). Adrian Utley (Portishead) makes a guest appearance playing synth & Swarmatron on the Main Theme. The tracks on the EP are: SIDE 1 1: “THEME FROM LIKELY STORIES” – a full - length version of the music heard over the opening titles of each episode.. With a beat. & A female choir. 2: “FORAGING” – from the episode “Feeders & Eaters”. An inter - generational love affair goes too far. The lyrics list edible fungi found in the UK. SIDE 2 1: “LOOKING FOR THE GIRL” – from the episode of the same name. An ageing photographer reveals the unlikely identity of his muse. 2: “POOR BABES IN THE WOODS” – from the episode “Closing Time”. Friends gather in an after-hours bar to swop “true” ghost stories. One tale - of an after - school encounter - leads to the unearthing of a dark secret. This is the first musical release from Jarvis Cocker since the “Further Complications” album in 2009, innit.