Availability Out of stock
Grouped product items
Product Name
No options of this product are available.
The Bell Orchestre was born in an old dance studio in central Montreal. As dancers ran, froze and crashed into each other and footsteps echoed in our ears the music began to create itself, painting landscapes and underscoring bodies, communicating through powerful, wordless gestures… The band spent two years among the dancers, and when the time came to fly away, the music continued to evolve and exude intangible, physical qualities. Bell Orchestre impacts the body and the emotions, evoking images, vast open spaces, movement and conflict, while retaining in the music a delicate intimacy and a raw ferocity that is completely unique. It taps into the acoustic delicacy of chamber music, the urgency and volume of post punk and rock, and the intricacy of contemporary electronic music. Often drawing comparisons to film music, perhaps this band is not so much creating the soundtracks to movies, but rather inventing a musical meeting place for a century’s worth of city ghosts, weather patterns and shifting architecture. The Bell Orchestre is made of strings, bells, horns, drums, stethoscopes, samples and quiet noise. Their live performances soothe, excite and soar. T he band is: Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire) on upright bass/keyboard/percussion, Sarah Neufeld (Arcade Fire) on violin, Stefan Schneider (IKS) on drums/percussion, Pietro Amato (Torngat) on French horn/electronics, and Kaveh Nabatian on Trumpet/Melodica, with Mike Feurstack (Wooden Stars/Snailhouse) playing Lap Steel Guitar on happy occasions.
© 2011 Rough Trade Records. All Rights Reserved.