The Smell of Our Own 20th Anniversary Edition

Release Date 14 Apr. 2023
In stock
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
The Smell of Our Own 20th Anniversary Edition - Deluxe Dbl LP

The Hidden Cameras in collaboration with Rough Trade Records, today announce a 20th anniversary expanded deluxe reissue of their majestic debut album ‘The Smell of Our Own’ to be released on April 14th 2023. A deluxe vinyl edition will be pressed as a 2 x LP edition on Yellow vinyl and featuring bonus demos and live session recordings. 

The Hidden Cameras burst onto the Toronto music scene in the early 2000’s boasting an irresistible combination of pop and queer sensibilities. Playing self-proclaimed ‘Gay Church Folk Music’ a new genre of their own making and songs ranging from haunted, aching ballads to foot-stomping anthems, the band’s outrageous stage shows packed such disparate venues as sweaty dance bars, art museums, working porn cinemas as well as many churches. Fronted by lead singer-songwriter Joel Gibb, the ensemble continues its musical provocations to this day, with Berlin now as its centre of gravity.

The Hidden Cameras had yet to release a note of commercially available music when, in early 2002, they became among the most discussed and celebrated unsigned bands in the history of their native Toronto. By the close of the year, they had been the subject of uncommonly sensational features in The Globe and Mail (Canada’s national newspaper) as well as in every daily and weekly in Toronto. The reasons for the reckless enthusiasm of these usually cautious journals was simple: revelatory live performances that attacked and transcended the staid, dispassionate traditions of rock nightclub culture; and the songs of band front-man and mastermind Joel Gibb, a talent of uncommon melodic and poetic gifts. ‘The Smell of Our Own’, The Hidden Cameras debut album was originally released in April 2003 on Rough Trade to tremendous critical acclaim.

1. Golden Streams

2. Ban Marriage

3. A Miracle

4. Animals Of Prey

5. Smells Like Happiness

6. The Day Is Dawning

7. Boys Of Melody

8. Shame

9. Breathe On It

10. The Man That I Am With My Man

11. Fear O Zine Failure - B-Side

12. Boys Of Melody - CBC Session

13. Smells like Happiness - 4 Track Demo

14. Shame - CBC Session

15. Day Is Dawning - CBC Session

16. The Dying Galatian - B-Side

17. Heavy Flow of Evil - B-Side

18.Ban Marriage - 4 Track Demo

19. Breathe On It - CBC Session

20. A Miracle - 4 Track Demo