From The Hills Below The City

Release Date 04 Jun. 2013
In stock
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
From The Hills Below The City - LP
From The Hills Below The City - CD

LP includes MP3 download coupon


Houndmouth is comprised of four musicians from New Albany, IN, across the river from Louisville - Matt Myers (guitar/vocals), Katie Toupin (keyboard/vocals), Zak Appleby (bass/vocals) and Shane Cody (drums/vocals). The group spent the past year building a passionate following in their hometown Louisville and touring with the Alabama Shakes, the Lumineers, the Drive-By Truckers and more. "Houndmouth is a great young band,” testifies Patterson Hood of the Truckers. "They 'brought it' each and every night. They were extremely popular with our fanbase and our band. I look forward to hearing what they do next."

 The 12 original songs on 'From The Hills Below the City' are packed with tales of down-on-their-luck drug runners, casinos, riverboats, recession-era scraping, and more. All members of Houndmouth sing, "leading with individual character and harmonizing in saloon-choir empathy," writes Rolling Stone's David Fricke, and their songs have a loose-limbed swing, anchored by a sturdy rhythm and a cagey melodic sensibility.



1. On The Road
2. Come On Illinois
3. Penitentiary
4. Casino (Bad Things)
5. Ludlow
6. Hey Rose
7. Krampus
8. Long As You're At Home
9. Houston Train
10. Halfway To Hardinsburg
11. Comin' Round Again
12. Palmyra